Assignment One: Preparation and Review

The course text suggested that in preparation for assignment one, I look through photographs that I’ve taken previously and try to assemble pairs that represent contrasting concepts. The images below demonstrate this.

The course textbook opens the brief to the assignment by stating that, ‘The basis for the assignment is one of the most fundamental principles in design: contrast’. It goes on to explain that contrast is not ‘restricted, purely to the photographic sense, where it means the range of brightness, but contrast between qualities’. 

After reading the briefing, I decided to read the section on contrast from The Photographer’s Eye by Michael Freeman, which happens to be next on my list of books to be read. This informed me that the concept of this assignment, ‘contrasts’, began in the 1920’s in the Bauhaus in Weimar, where Itten taught art and design. The basis of his teaching on the theory of composition was contrast.

Armed with a greater understanding of the assignment concept, I proceeded to make notes and spider diagrams, as I carried out a brainstorming session. This gave me a starting point. I recently finished reading Behind The Image by Anna Fox and Natasha Caruana, and found this book to be insightful.

I looked at each contrast from the assignment, and researched my ideas and concepts on the internet. Sometimes an idea worked and resulted in a final image, such as my final image for the contrast ‘Low’. Other times I had to change direction completely. I believe that the experience gained from assignment one will definitely benefit me in how I approach future assignments.

Assessment Criteria

Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skill: I believe that I managed to meet this criteria. I used a variety of focal lengths, apertures, ISO’s and shutter speeds. I encountered no major problems technically, and feel that my images drew on the skills and compositional techniques that made up the course exercises.

Quality of Outcome: I feel that my work on this assignment communicates the concept in question.

Demonstration of Creativity: I believe that I’ve demonstrated creativity in my work for the assignment, and I’m looking forward to feedback from my tutor in this area.

Context: My blog is developing a little slower than I’d like with regard to research on photographers, and types of photography that appeal to me, or otherwise as the case may be. However, I aim to improve on this from now on as I become more adept at manipulating the blog, and more used to being a distance learner.

Leave a comment